Winner Team 2021

Angelica Tarpanelli, Christian Massari, Luca Brocca, Luca Ciabatta and Stefania Camici, National Research Council

Working at the Research Institute for Geo-Hydrological Protection, this young team demonstrates the potential of satellite products as a crucial support to the hydrological community in tackling issues related to floods, landslides, droughts and much more. 

Starting from the pioneering studies on the assimilation of satellite soil moisture products into hydrological modelling, the team has also developed innovative methods to estimate rainfall and irrigation from soil moisture data. Furthermore, their work helps address the issue of scarcity of data for predicting water supply.

Nominate the next Award Winner!

The call for nomination is open from 18 September 2023 to 15 December 2023